Tool Rack


The quick and dirty tool rack is done. This was built from the plan outlined in an article in the Autumn 2007 issue of Woodworking Magazine (page 24). I recommend it as a quick way to get some order in the shop without having to make a big elaborate, time-consuming tool cabinet.

I mentioned in a previous post that I was thinking of putting a pencil groove in the shelf. Well I did that even though the whole shelf is shaped like a troff. I got out the old “round” molding plane I bought off ebay a while ago and tuned it up. The iron in that must be home made – it’s really bad. It’s got what looks like pitting in the metal that I think is just from being made from really poor steel. But I got it sharp enough to plow a groove along the front edge of the shelf. It was the first time I’d done anything like that, which was fun. You can see the blue mechanical pencil on the shelf right under the hand drill. That’s sitting in the groove.

I see now that it’s possible to be geeky about woodworking. Not sure what I think of that.

By the way, Woodworking Magazine is, imo, easily the best woodworking magazine available in the US. I’ve subscribed to almost all of them in the last few years. But now I don’t bother with any but this one, and one other.

About johnjoiner

Computer nerd by day, Dad and woodworker by night. Woodworking blog at https://johnjoiner.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

