Now don’t move!


The goal is a coopered door the way James Krenov did them, and I was taught last June at Inside Passage.

The first picture shows the five staves that are becoming my door. They started out as one flat panel of cypress about 3/4″ x 7″ x 18″. The wood had sat in my basement shop for a few months to acclimate, then I sliced it into the five pieces you see. A couple days later the first three staves were still very flat and the fourth stave from the left was warped. You can see it a bit in the second photo – it is raised up in the middle.

I’ve read about this many times. People talk about inner stresses in the wood that can release when it’s cut. I’ve seen wood warp and twist as it dries and even had a couple boards pinch the table saw blade as they were ripped. But this wood is dry as far as I can tell with my crappy moisture meter. I’ve never seen anything like this.

So there you have it. I’m a believer now. Watch out for those inner stresses.

About johnjoiner

Computer nerd by day, Dad and woodworker by night. Woodworking blog at https://johnjoiner.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in wood. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Now don’t move!

  1. Yes; inner stresses are very stressful. Do watch out for them.

Leave a Reply

