Tool Buying

I still consider myself to be kind of a beginning woodworker. But I’ve been doing this long enough that I try to focus on the use of, rather than the buying of tools. Talk about buying a specific tool is boring to those who already own one, and boring to everyone who isn’t going to buy one. Who does that leave? Well, me in this case. And this was kind of a big deal for me, so hear goes. I’ll try to keep if fairly painless.

I bought a mortiser yesterday. And not a little bench-top model, but a big one (for an amateur). For quite some time I wasn’t sure I wanted a mortiser. To keep this short, let’s just say that I finally decided I should have one. I mean The Schwarz uses mortisers, so I figure it’s ok. And for a couple years I’ve been keeping my eye on them, thinking about how much to spend, and where I would put it in my small shop.

Then yesterday I found what was, until recently, a $900 machine (before taxes or shipping fees), that I could get shipped to me for $380 after $150 in Jet rebates. I had seen this same tool from Amazon last week for $550 minus the rebates. But shipping would have been another $150. I was strong and I resisted. But this deal yesterday was just too much. I think the rebates are good through the end of December if you’re wanting to make square holes too.

One thing that wasn’t addressed by all these discounts and rebates is where exactly this will go in my shop.

About johnjoiner

Computer nerd by day, Dad and woodworker by night. Woodworking blog at https://johnjoiner.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in tools. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tool Buying

  1. I must add that it's very handy to have it sitting in the box in the middle of the kitchen. It's a nice spot for my purse. Also, the neighbors were WAY curious about the ginormous truck in which it arrived. That was fun. ;->

Leave a Reply

