It’s back to the shop for me.

image

The dry sink has been sitting two-thirds finished for quite a while

Today I finished Schwarz’s “The Anarchist’s Tool Chest.”  This is my newest favoritest awesomist book.  Really.  I’ve started and read parts of lots and lots of non-fiction books.  And I think it’s safe to say I’ve never read cover to cover one this long (475 pages).  But I gobbled up every word of this book, from the prologue to the afterward.  There was never any danger of losing patience or focus like what usually happens with me and a non-fiction book of any length.

The parts where Christopher explains American anarchism spoke to me.  But I’m still confused about that.  And the internet is so full of the violent chaotic form of anarchism that it’s little help.

But woodworking and it’s tools, and how I intend to go about it is much clearer now having read this.  I would love to start at the beginning and read this again.  Seriously.  I’m sure I will some day.  But for now I will get back to it and put into practice some of the things I’ve been reading about for the last two-and-a-half weeks.

About johnjoiner

Computer nerd by day, Dad and woodworker by night. Woodworking blog at https://johnjoiner.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in media. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s back to the shop for me.

  1. Ed says:

    Like what?

    • johnjoiner says:

      I won’t try to explain the American anarchism part – I’d just misrepresent it. I will risk saying that it’s a sort of anti-consumerism.

      One of the main messages regarding woodworking is that a hobbyist woodworker who’s willing to do a lot of work with hand tools can gather a set of about 50 tools, and can build most things with that kit. And if you can’t fit it in your tool chest then you can probably do without it. This is contrary to most of the woodworking literature out there that is constantly pushing new tools and gadgets.

  2. Nuevo says:

    I got mine Tuesday, finally. After I finish typing this. The devouring shall begin. I did some random flipping just a while ago. Looks juicy.

    Missed you Tuesday. Brad awl craziness. I’ve never honed so many tiny chisel-like objects but I’m proud to have finally had a major contribution to a TTN project.

    I assume the dry sink is in your sites…

    • johnjoiner says:

      Jeffe.

      Yes, the dry sink is so close it might finish itself if I don’t get on it. Yet it might have to wait for another short home improvement project. And I need to buy a new car before the van becomes completely undrivable. Bah.

Leave a Reply

