A Poster, Some News, And The Wedge

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted anything. But I have been doing some woodworking since last post even though I was out of the country for two weeks, and it seems like there’s at least one soccer or lacrosse event to drive to every day. So here are three random thoughts to help me get back into the swing of things.

Hammer head after filing, not yet hardened

The Minnesota Woodworker’s Guild held it’s annual show last weekend.  It was another fine showing about which I’ll post separately. But here is the poster (pdf) showing last year’s best in show winning piece.

northernwoods2012

I’m done with the building of the dry sink. A little smoothing is needed yet on the door, and it needs to be mounted. More on that soon too.

Still in the “news” department, the filing on the large hammer head was finished last night. It now needs hardening, tempering, and handling. I’m very pleased with how it’s looking at this stage. The photo here was from my phone. I’ll take some with the real camera when it’s done.

Finally, I heard an idiom on the English show Doc Martin recently that cracked me up. When Louisa was about to pick the infant out of the crib because he was crying, Doc wanted her to let the baby cry it out and said to her, “That’s the thin end of the wedge.”

Cheers.

About johnjoiner

Computer nerd by day, Dad and woodworker by night. Woodworking blog at https://johnjoiner.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

