1800 Dry Sink

Dry sink. White pine, cut nails, shellac and milk paint

I finished the largest project I’ve built, except for my workbench, this weekend. With one large exception I’m very happy with it. This is a loose reproduction of a dry sink from about 1800. The plan was out of Woodworking Magazine.

I did lots of new things on this dry sink, including work with white pine (not plywood); dadoes and cross-grain rabbets by hand; and hand-made cock-beading. I used lots of cut nails on this. I love cut nails, and there’s about 3/4 pound of them buried in that pine.

The part I’m unhappy with is the paint. I honestly think it looks worse in the photos. But I didn’t intend for it to have the uneven (crafty?) look that it has. There are four coats of milk-paint, one pumpkin, one slate, and two federal blue on it. I don’t know what the problem was, but I jut had to stop after the fourth coat. I’m optimistic that it will age well.

The gap in the ship-lapped back is for A/V cables. The intent is for this to be the new entertainment center – I hope it’s not too large. If in the future I want to enclose the back the final back board can be slid up from the bottom and nailed in place.

About johnjoiner

Computer nerd by day, Dad and woodworker by night. Woodworking blog at https://johnjoiner.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

