Fun With Tenons

Veritas large shoulder plane on the work piece which is on my shooting board

I’ve resumed working on my Roubo workbench, which means timber frame-sized mortise and tenons. I recently sold my rabbet block plane. I bought it hoping it would do double duty as both a block plane and a shoulder plane. It was a good block plane but I didn’t like it at all as a rabbet/shoulder plane.  While working a tenon like in this photo, for example, the low profile makes the plane too hard to hold.  The tall shoulder plane works great in my hands. This plane is on loan from a friend.

About johnjoiner

Computer nerd by day, Dad and woodworker by night. Woodworking blog at https://johnjoiner.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

